The Sustainable Development Goals


The Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs) are a set of 17 goals adopted by the United Nations (UN) in 2015 to end poverty, protect the planet, and ensure peace and prosperity for all[1][2][4][6]. The goals are a call to action by all countries, developed and developing, in a global partnership[4]. The SDGs are integrated and recognize that action in one area will affect outcomes in others, and that development must balance social, economic, and environmental sustainability[6]. The 17 SDGs are:

  1. No Poverty
  2. Zero Hunger
  3. Good Health and Well-being
  4. Quality Education
  5. Gender Equality
  6. Clean Water and Sanitation
  7. Affordable and Clean Energy
  8. Decent Work and Economic Growth
  9. Industry, Innovation and Infrastructure
  10. Reduced Inequalities
  11. Sustainable Cities and Communities
  12. Responsible Consumption and Production
  13. Climate Action
  14. Life Below Water
  15. Life on Land
  16. Peace, Justice and Strong Institutions
  17. Partnerships for the Goals

The SDGs build on the success of the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) and aim to go further to end all forms of poverty, fight inequalities, and tackle climate change, while ensuring that no one is left behind[2].


Share your thoughts